How to Count Player Deaths

I am completely new to this, as in I’ve never written a line of code in my life, but the prospect of it is interesting to me and I feel like I’ve got some fun game ideas, so I went through all of the tutorials and I feel like I’m able to understand the basic fundamentals of it.

I’m trying to write a script that keeps track of the total player deaths per match in the FFA template.

My goal is to adjust attributes of the player based on the amount of times they have been killed.

I’ve tried both creating a property in HealthScript and creating an individual script to track it. The problem I keep running into is how to increase the default value of the number.

The property I’ve defined as a number named “deathCount”

As a property I’ve attempted to increase it by adding

"self.property.deathCount = self.property.deathCount +1

Under the Init() [thinking that the count increased Everytime the HealthScript is initialized] and I’ve attempted to add it under the self:Kill script within the OnDamage() function.

I’m guessing [probably wrong] that it’s not working because the script reinitializing resets the default value of number properties.

Could anyone please tell me what I am doing wrong and provide a solution?

Thank you!

2 Likes

Hey. It’s great to hear you’re jumping in the code side of things :slight_smile:

So it seems like you’re on the right lines but as you said the Init() will be resetting that number each time the player respawns. What you’d want to do here is actually have that count on the User, which is never re-initialised. Think of the user as the human actually playing the game where the player is the character in the game.